• Archives

  • Peace Corps Adventure

  • DISCLAIMER:

    The opinions expressed here are my own and do not reflect those of the Peace Corps, the U.S. Government, or any other person, party, or organization mentioned on this website. No part of this blog (including text and pictures) may be reproduced or copied without express permission from me.

Takin’ This Show on the Road.

Hey Folks!
Well I am all packed up (right at 79.9lbs) and ready to get this show on the road!
 
I am headed to Washington, D.C. bright and early tomorrow for Staging. My group of Volunteers, Peace Corps: South Africa 18 (to be known from now on as PC:SA18), totals just over 40 people and we are all working as School and Community Resource Volunteers. Word on the street is that we will end up being stationed in the Limpopo and Mpumalanga regions, which are in the north east part of the country. And we will be divided up to learn one of five languages: Sepedi, IsiZulu (which they speak in the Lion King), IsiSwati, Xitsonga and IsiNdebele.
We fly into Johannesburg (also known as Jo’burg) on Tuesday and will then be driven to Marapyane, about an hour and half north. We will be there for about a week, until we are placed with our Pre-Service Training groups of about 4-5 volunteers. We will all be living with host families, learning the language and generally just adjusting to life on the highveld.
We will officially sworn in as Peace Corps Volunteers on Sept. 15th, and will go to live at our permanent sites, likely in the region where we did pre-service training.
 
In preparation for leaving I have eaten at all of my favorite places, taken excessively long hot showers, worn “inappropriate” clothing (i.e. shorts and tank tops)and been to Wal Mart more times than I would like to admit. Finally just to stay nice and relaxed while we convert Joanna and I’s bedrooms for future grandchildren, Mom and I have been alternately coffee and beer every few hours. All in all, its been a great last few days! On another note, I have been instructed not to come home without some children.
 
While there are definitely some things that I am a little nervous about (i.e. Parasites, Hippos, the lack of diet coke) I am really excited about getting this adventure started! Plus, how hard could it be. I mean I did survive Tri Delt Recruitment Boot camp three times! 🙂
 
I will do my best to keep everyone up to date! Internet access might be limited the first few months while we do Pre-Service Training (also known as Peace Corps bootcamp) but you can definitely snail mail me! My address is listed below.
 
Thanks for all the well-wishes and support, its been such a great help preparing to move to a new hemisphere!

 
Sien Jou Later (See you later!)

2 Responses

  1. Hi Leah, I’m so excited for you. Hope it’s all going reasonably well. I’m sure it’s fun to meet the rest of your group, there are bound to be great people, like you. It is such a big, big adventure! You are very courageous.

    Bill & I are hanging in there with the heat of July!! The paper said this is the 35th day in a row over 90 degrees. Most of those are 100 degree days. I’m trying to get the house painted, I definitely have to work mornings and mostly in the shade. We’re getting out on the river tomorrow for an overnight trip.

    In a week+ I’m taking Maddie & Allie to MInnesota for the family vacation. They’ve been talking to the girls so they’ll be ready. Allie says “Alyie go Mommasoda wi Nana Jew-ee”. It’s pretty funny. Carrie is like, “I wonder what she thinks Mamasoda is?

    Time for me to get going here. Is it best to reply here or send a message on your email? Thinking of you. Sending good thoughts. Take care, Love, Julie & Bill

  2. Dear Leah,
    Happy Birthday. So cool that you are in Peace Corps. My daughter, Sarah, just got back from 3 years in Paraguay Peace Corps. I am just retired and trying to get used to this new space. Hope you get this and are finding peace. I am not too good at the computer.
    Dr. John C. Lamb

Leave a comment