• Archives

  • Peace Corps Adventure

  • DISCLAIMER:

    The opinions expressed here are my own and do not reflect those of the Peace Corps, the U.S. Government, or any other person, party, or organization mentioned on this website. No part of this blog (including text and pictures) may be reproduced or copied without express permission from me.

Long Time!

Aug 13, 2009

Long Time No See!

Hello all you out there. It’s been a while since I have written. Let’s see, I had a wonderful trip home to the States in June. It was so fun to get to be at Tanner and Sarah’s wedding, throw Allyson a bachlorette party and win some money at mini golf. Plus I am really lucky to have such an awesome family, who lives in a great state. Thanks so much to everyone who helped make my trip wonderful.

I have been back at school for about a month now, and to be honest it’s moving very slowly. If I have learned anything in the last year it is that the old saying “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink” is completely true. Just like everyone else in the world, the teachers I am working with are a little bit resistant to change. Change is hard and uncomfortable, and it is just so much easier to do things the way we know how. So even though in my American mind I wish change were faster in coming, I am trying to stay relaxed and focus on the small changes I can implement. I am still working with grades 5-7 on literacy and our project this term is to create a school newspaper. I am also teaching reading to grade 4 and computers to educators. I am really hoping to be able to teach computers at the higher primary school (grades 5-7) but the computers have been fixed several times in the year I have been here, and still don’t all work at the same time. So hopefully soon they will all work!

A couple of weeks ago I got to meet the new SA PCVs during their first week in country. We talked about learning to be happy in this new and uncertain place. I hope they got something out of it! I am headed back to spend a few more days with them next week, and will be talking about a couple of education topics.

Yesterday was the official halfway point of my service. 395 days down, 395 to go. Thanks Trevor for figuring out the exact count! Crazy!

I would like to remind everyone that I REALLY like getting mail, especially postcards that I can show kids. So here is my address again, in case you had misplaced it.

Leah Taylor PO Box 1964 Maja 0719 RSA

I hope you are doing well where ever this finds you! Much Love.

4 Responses

  1. Hi Sweetie!
    Yea! You are on the down hill side of this thing!
    I thoroughly appreciate your perspective on your
    life as it is unfolding, currently.
    Love you bug!
    Mom

  2. Leah!

    WHAT an experience!!! You are awesome sweetie! Can’t wait to see you there and see you elsewhere 🙂 Will you want to go traveling with me somewhere at the end of March 2010? If so, where? I’d like to go to Cape Town – do you want to go there? Open to all other ideas for wild thing viewing….beautiful places and real people, just let me know.

    Ciao for now and postcards to come!! xxooo your aunt Taylor

  3. You are an amazing girl, Leah, woman I should say. I can’t imagine myself at your age doing what you are doing. I hope you find some fun along the way. Blessings. Aunt Betty

  4. Hi Leah, In case you have any doubt, you make me a very proud Grandmother. What memories you are making! Hopefully I’ll get to visit you before your time is done. It was so good to see you in June. Keep on keeping on. Love you, G.Lo

Leave a comment