• Archives

  • Peace Corps Adventure

  • DISCLAIMER:

    The opinions expressed here are my own and do not reflect those of the Peace Corps, the U.S. Government, or any other person, party, or organization mentioned on this website. No part of this blog (including text and pictures) may be reproduced or copied without express permission from me.

Things I’ve Learned Update

Month Eleven: 13 May- 12 June 2009

–         My new mantra: Humility, Sincerity, Grace

–         People everywhere are resistant to change, pretty much no matter what. So its interesting that I picked a job with the sole purpose of creating, implementing, forcing, starting change.

–         How to make really good pita bread.

 

Month Twelve: 13 June- 12 July 2009

–         You can go home again.

–         Don’t whistle at marmots

–         Three margs is too many.

–         When people tell you who they are, listen.

–         10,000 miles is one heck of a long way!

–         Africa is a serious place.

–         Everywhere people are most concerned with their own problems. But can ya blame them?

–         Men do silly things for bachlorette parties.

–         All about wedding dresses.

–         There is no easy answer to “How is Africa?”.

–         In any way that really counts, people don’t change.

 

Month Thirteen: 13 July- 12 Aug 2009

–         I have a wonderful host family

–         Sometimes things are lost and either they are replaceable or they will find their way back to you.

–         We can reprogram our neurological pathways in order to experience things more positively.

– To knit from Grandma Della’s book

–         The history of Liberia

–         All about the most influential people in the world this year.

–         That 300 helium balloons tangled together won’t fly after 3 hours in the sun.

– Sometimes change happens in microscopic increments, and often goes undetected by the human eye.

2 Responses

  1. Leah, we’re all learning from you and from your experience! And I bet your example will inspire your friends and family members to be more involved with the world–for generations to come! We send much love from Minnesota!

  2. Hi Leah,
    I love your blog and can’t wait to see your dress. Maybe it will start a trend in the family. Loie can take a pattern off a dress like a pro. I’ve seen her do it.

    I taught briefly once, to adults. What a fun challenge. I finally learned how to get them to be quiet while I’m talking by stopping abruptly and pointedly staring at the talkers until they finally became aware that the whole class was waiting on them.

    They’d get a little embarrassed and be good from then on. Does it work on kids? Seems I stole it from a 4th or 5th grade teacher. Waaay back in my subconscious.

    I learned it/remembered it toward the end of my stint so didn’t get to use it much. Which is too bad because I often fantasized about the snarky little things I could use to drive home the point. Like, “Excuse me, was I talking while you were interrupting”, or some other comment that I just never seem to think of on the spur of the moment.

    Best regards from Arizona

Leave a comment